M.A. and Others v. Lithuania

Application № 59793/17
Get advice
The Сourt found violations of the applicants’ rights and awarded them compensation
flag Lithuania / flag Belarus / flag Russia / European Court of Human Rights
Case type: expulsion / deportation

The applicants in the case are husband (“M.A.”), his wife and their underage children. All of them are Russian nationals of Chechen origin.

The case concerns repeated refusals to accept the application for asylum at the Lithuanian border and the applicants’ subsequent expulsion to Belarus.

Circumstances of the case

In 2017, M.A. was tortured by the Chechen police. The applicants therefore decided to seek asylum in the European Union.

The family first went to Brest, Belarus. From Brest the complainants repeatedly tried to enter Poland and apply for asylum there. These attempts were unsuccessful: Polish border guards ignored their applications for asylum and returned the applicants to Belarus. These facts were considered in a separate application by the European Court of Human Rights, which also found violations of the applicants’ rights (see M.A. and Others v. Poland). Our lawyer represented the family in that case as well.

In April-May 2017, the applicants tried to enter Lithuania three times. Each time they made it clear to the Lithuanian border guards orally or in writing that they wished to apply for asylum. Despite this, the applicants' applications were not accepted and they were denied entry. Thereafter they were expelled to Belarus.

Get advice

Decision

On 11 December 2018, the Court delivered its judgement on the complaint in favor of the applicants. The Court found that the Lithuanian authorities had violated articles 3 and 13 of the European Convention on Human Rights. The violation of article 3 occurred, because Lithuanian border guards had not accepted the applicants’ application for asylum on three occasions. The authorities therefore did not assess the safety of the family's return to Belarus, which expels forced migrants from Chechnya to Russia without any guarantees. The Court found a violation of article 13 of the Convention, taken in conjunction with article 3, as the applicants were unable to effectively appeal against the refusals of entry to Lithuania.

The applicants were awarded 22,000 euros in compensation.

Link: http://hudoc.echr.coe.int/eng?i=001-188267

Do you have a question?

Specialised legal assistance in the protection of human rights

We use cookies to be able to offer you useful features and measure performance to improve the quality of the service. By choosing the "Accept All" option, you agree to the use of all cookies.

Privacy policy

М.А. и другие против Литвы

Жалоба № 59793/17
Получить консультацию
Суд установил нарушения прав заявителей и присудил компенсацию
flag Литва / flag Беларусь / flag Россия / Европейский суд по правам человека
Тип дела: высылка / депортация

Заявители в деле – муж («М.А.»), его жена и их несовершеннолетние дети. Все они граждане России родом из Чечни.

Дело касается многократных отказов принять просьбу об убежище на литовской границе и последующего выдворения заявителей в Беларусь.

Обстоятельства дела

В 2017 году М.А. подвергся пыткам в Чечне со стороны полиции. Из-за этого заявители решили искать убежище в Европейском союзе.

Сначала семья уехала в Брест, Беларусь. Из Бреста заявители многократно пытались въехать в Польшу и подать просьбу об убежище там. Эти попытки были безуспешными: польские пограничники игнорировали их просьбы об убежище и возвращали заявителей в Беларусь. Данные факты рассматривались Европейским судом по правам человека в отдельном разбирательстве, где также были установлены нарушения прав заявителей (см. М.А. и другие против Польши). Наш юрист представлял семью и в этом деле.

В апреле-мае 2017 года заявители трижды пытались въехать в Литву. Каждый раз они четко давали понять литовским пограничникам в устной или письменной форме, что они желают подать ходатайство об убежище. Несмотря на это, ходатайства заявителей не были приняты и им отказывали во въезде. После этого их выдворяли в Беларусь.

Получить консультацию

Решение

11 декабря 2018 года Суд вынес решение по жалобе в пользу заявителей. Он установил, что власти Литвы нарушили статьи 3 и 13, взятую в сочетании со статьей 3, Европейской конвенции по правам человека. Нарушение статьи 3 имело место, поскольку литовские пограничники трижды не приняли просьбы заявителей об убежище. Как следствие, власти не провели оценку безопасности возвращения семьи в Беларусь, которая практикует высылку в Россию вынужденных мигрантов из Чечни без каких-либо гарантий. Суд установил нарушение статьи 13 Конвенции, взятой в сочетании со статьей 3, поскольку у заявителей не было возможности эффективно обжаловать отказы во въезде в Литву.

Заявителям присудили 22 тысячи евро компенсации.

Ссылка: http://hudoc.echr.coe.int/eng?i=001-188267

У вас есть вопрос?

Профессиональная юридическая помощь в защите прав человека

Мы используем файлы cookie, чтобы иметь возможность предлагать Вам полезные функции и измерять производительность для улучшения качества обслуживания. Выбирая опцию "Принять все", Вы соглашаетесь с использованием всех файлов cookie.