R.Y., E.P. and Others v. Switzerland

Communication № 1073/2021
Get advice
Deportation to Belarus has been suspended pending the Committee's decision on the complaint
flag Sweden / flag Belarus / Committee against Torture
Case type: asylum

The complainants in the case are husband (“R.Y.”), wife (“K.P.”) and their children. All of them are nationals of Belarus. The case concerns the rejection of the application for asylum and the deportation of the complainants from Sweden to Belarus.

Circumstances of the case

For several years R.Y., K.P. and their families were persecuted, including being subjected to torture, by the Belarusian law enforcement authorities. The husband and the wife left Belarus for Sweden and became involved in opposition activities. During the mass repressions that unfolded in Belarus after the 2020 presidential elections, members of their opposition association were arrested in conjunction with a politically motivated criminal case.

During the initial procedure, the family handed over to their lawyer in Sweden a large number of the original documents proving the risk of their persecution in Belarus. Despite this, the lawyer neither provided the evidence to the national authorities nor returned it to the complainants. The appeals that he had prepared were very short and did not take into account the details of the Belarusian context. The Swedish authorities therefore rejected the application for asylum and ordered the family to leave the country.

Thereafter the complainants turned to us. We prepared for them an application for reexamination to the Swedish Migra­tion Agency. In the application we provided evidence in the complainants' case and detailed information about the human rights violations in Belarus. The Migration Agency and subsequently the courts refused to re-examine the case. After that we appealed to the Committee against Torture.

Complaint to the Committee against Torture

In the complaint we argued that upon return to Belarus the complainants would face a real risk of torture or other ill-treatment. We also pointed out that the Swedish authorities had failed to adequately  assess the evidence provided in the case and had not verified its authenticity. On this basis we stated that the complainants' deportation would violate article 3 of the Convention against Torture.

Get advice

Decision

On 14 May 2021, the Committee indicated to the Government of Switzerland an interim measure requesting it not to deport the complainants to Belarus pending the examination of their case.

Do you have a question?

Specialised legal assistance in the protection of human rights

We use cookies to be able to offer you useful features and measure performance to improve the quality of the service. By choosing the "Accept All" option, you agree to the use of all cookies.

Privacy policy

Р.Е., Е.П. и другие против Швеции

Сообщение № 1073/2021
Получить консультацию
Депортация в Беларусь остановлена до вынесения Комитетом решения по жалобе
flag Швеция / flag Беларусь / Комитет против пыток
Тип дела: отказ в убежище

Заявители в деле – муж («Р.Е.»), жена («Е.П.») и их дети. Все они граждане Беларуси. Дело касается отказа в убежище и депортации заявителей из Швеции в Беларусь.

Обстоятельства дела

На протяжении нескольких лет Р.Е., Е.П. и их семьи подвергались преследованиям, в том числе пыткам, со стороны правоохранительных органов Беларуси. Спустя некоторое время после отъезда в Швецию муж и жена стали участвовать в оппозиционной деятельности. В ходе массовых репрессий, развернувшихся в Беларуси после президентских выборов 2020 года, члены их оппозиционного объединения были арестованы по политически мотивированному уголовному делу.

В ходе первоначальной процедуры семья передала своему адвокату в Швеции большое количество документов в оригинале, доказывающих риск их преследования в Беларуси. Несмотря на это, адвокат не предоставил их национальным властям и не вернул их заявителям. Подготовленные им жалобы были очень короткими и не учитывали детали беларусского контекста. В результате шведские власти отказали семье в убежище и указали им покинуть страну.

После этого заявители обратились к нашим юристам. Мы подготовили для них ходатайство в Миграционную службу Швеции о пересмотре их дела. В ходатайстве мы представили доказательства по делу заявителей и подробную информацию о нарушениях прав человека в Беларуси. Миграционная служба и впоследствии суды отказались пересматривать дело, после чего наши юристы обратились в Комитет против пыток.

Жалоба в Комитет против пыток

В жалобе мы утверждали, что при возвращении в Беларусь заявители столкнутся с реальной угрозой пыток или иного жестокого обращения. Мы также указали, что шведские власти не оценили должным образом представленные доказательства по делу и не проверили их подлинность. На основании этого было заявлено, что депортация заявителей будет нарушать статью 3 Конвенции против пыток.

Получить консультацию

Решение

14 мая 2021 года Комитет применил к заявителям обеспечительные меры и попросил власти Швеции не депортировать их в Беларусь до того, как он рассмотрит жалобу.

У вас есть вопрос?

Профессиональная юридическая помощь в защите прав человека

Мы используем файлы cookie, чтобы иметь возможность предлагать Вам полезные функции и измерять производительность для улучшения качества обслуживания. Выбирая опцию "Принять все", Вы соглашаетесь с использованием всех файлов cookie.