А.K. и А.-M. К. v. Switzerland

Communication № 1089/2021
Get advice
Deportation to Ukraine has been suspended pending the Committee's decision on the complaint
flag Switzerland / flag Ukraine / Committee against Torture
Case type: asylum

The complainants in the case are nationals of Ukraine, husband (“A.K”) and wife (“A.-M. K.”). The case concerns the denial of asylum and the deportation of the complainants from Switzerland to Ukraine.

Circumstances of the case

A.K. was an anti-corruption activist. He started to receive numerous threats from the law-enforcement of Ukraine and fled from his hometown, then the country. In Ukraine there are two criminal investigations against A.K.

The law-enforcement started to visit A.-M. K. in order to find A.K. During one of such visits one of the officers raped her. Due to the sustained trauma, A.-M. K. has developed post-traumatic stress disorder and depressive disorder.

The Swiss authorities rejected the complainants’ applications for asylum and ordered them to leave the country.

Complaint to the Committee against Torture

In the complaint we argued that the Swiss authorities did not properly verify the authenticity of provided evidence including materials pertaining to the criminal procedures against A.K. and A.-M. K.’s medical records. We pointed out that in Ukraine the complainants would face a real risk of torture or other ill-treatment. On this grounds we stated that the deportation of the complainants would violate articles 3 and 16 of the Convention against Torture.

Get advice

Decision

On 8 September 2021, the Committee indicated to the Government of Switzerland an interim measure requesting it not to deport the complainants to Ukraine pending examination of their case.

Do you have a question?

Specialised legal assistance in the protection of human rights

We use cookies to be able to offer you useful features and measure performance to improve the quality of the service. By choosing the "Accept All" option, you agree to the use of all cookies.

Privacy policy

А.К. и А.-М. К. против Швейцарии

Сообщение № 1089/2021
Получить консультацию
Депортация в Украину остановлена до вынесения Комитетом решения по жалобе
flag Швейцария / flag Украина / Комитет против пыток
Тип дела: отказ в убежище

Заявители в деле – граждане Украины, муж («А.К.») и жена («А.-М. К.»). Дело касается отказа в убежище и депортации заявителей из Швейцарии в Украину.

Обстоятельства дела

А.К. был активистом в сфере борьбы с коррупцией. Он стал получать многочисленные угрозы от правоохранительных органов Украины и уехал из родного города, а затем из страны. В Украине на А.К. было заведено два уголовных дела.

Правоохранительные органы стали приходить к А.-М. К, чтобы найти А.К. В один из визитов один из сотрудников изнасиловал ее. Из-за пережитой травмы у А.-М. К. развилось посттравматическое стрессовое расстройство и депрессивное расстройство.

Швейцарские власти отказали заявителям в убежище и постановили депортировать их на родину.

Жалоба в Комитет против пыток

В жалобе мы утверждали, что швейцарские власти не проверили должным образом подлинность представленных доказательств, включая материалы уголовного дела против А.К. и медицинские документы А.-М. К. Мы указали, что в Украине заявители столкнутся с реальной угрозой пыток или иного жестокого обращения. На основании этого было заявлено, что депортация заявителей будет нарушать статьи 3 и 16 Конвенции против пыток.

Получить консультацию

Решение

8 сентября 2021 года Комитет применил к заявителям обеспечительные меры и попросил власти Швейцарии не депортировать их в Украину до того, как он рассмотрит жалобу.

У вас есть вопрос?

Профессиональная юридическая помощь в защите прав человека

Мы используем файлы cookie, чтобы иметь возможность предлагать Вам полезные функции и измерять производительность для улучшения качества обслуживания. Выбирая опцию "Принять все", Вы соглашаетесь с использованием всех файлов cookie.