Kuznechyk v. Sweden

Communication № 1027/2020
Get advice
Removal of the applicants from the Swedish embassy in Belarus has been prevented pending the Committee's decision on the complaint
flag Sweden / flag Belarus / Committee against Torture
Case type: torture and other ill-treatment

The applicants in the case are Belarusian nationals Vitali and Uladzislau Kuznechyk, father and son. The case concerns their removal from the Swedish embassy in Minsk, Belarus.

Circumstances of the case

Vitali and Uladzislau Kuznechyk participated in a peaceful protest against the falsification of the results of the presidential elections  in Belarus. At the protest Vitali was beaten presumably by policemen. Uladzislau, along with other protesters, stood up for his father and took him away from the presumed policemen. These events were captured on video (from the 37th second Vitali Kuznechyk can be seen being beaten).

After this incident, criminal charges against the applicants were brought on the allegation of violence against the police officers. Fearing torture, on 11 September 2020 Vitali and Uladzislau Kuznechyk infiltrated the Swedish embassy in Minsk, where they have been staying ever since.

Complaint to the Committee against Torture

In the complaint we argued that if the applicants would be detained by the Belarusian authorities, they would face a real risk of torture. If they would be apprehended as the result of the Swedish authorities’ action or omission, Sweden would be in violation of its obligations under Article 3 of the Convention against Torture.

Get advice

Decision

On 1 October 2020, the Committee indicated to the Government of Sweden an interim measure requesting it "to take necessary measures to safeguard the complainants' personal integrity while their complaint is under consideration by the Committee". Essentially, the Committee asked the Government not to transfer the applicants to the Belarusian authorities.

Do you have a question?

Specialised legal assistance in the protection of human rights

We use cookies to be able to offer you useful features and measure performance to improve the quality of the service. By choosing the "Accept All" option, you agree to the use of all cookies.

Privacy policy

Кузнечики против Швеции

Сообщение № 1027/2020
Получить консультацию
Выдворение заявителей из посольства Швеции в Беларуси предотвращено до вынесения Комитетом решения по жалобе
flag Швеция / flag Беларусь / Комитет против пыток
Тип дела: пытки и жестокое обращение

Заявители в деле – граждане Беларуси Виталий и Владислав Кузнечики, отец и сын. Дело касается их выдворения из посольства Швеции в Минске (Беларусь).

Обстоятельства дела

Виталий и Владислав Кузнечики приняли участие в мирной акции протеста против фальсификации результатов президентских выборов в Беларуси. Во время акции Виталия избили предположительно сотрудники милиции. Владислав вместе с другими участниками акции заступился за отца и отобрал его у предполагаемых милиционеров. Эти события были запечатлены на видео (с 37-ой секунды видно избиение Виталия Кузнечика).

После акции на заявителей было возбуждено уголовное дело за насилие в отношении сотрудников органов внутренних дел. Опасаясь подвергнуться пыткам, 11 сентября 2020 года Виталий и Владислав Кузнечики проникли на территорию посольства Швеции в Минске, где находятся до настоящего времени.

Жалоба в Комитет против пыток

В жалобе мы утверждали, что если заявители будут задержаны властями Беларуси, то они столкнутся с реальной угрозой подвергнуться пыткам. Если задержание произойдет в результате действий или бездействия властей Швеции, то Швеция нарушит свои обязательства по статье 3 Конвенции против пыток.

Получить консультацию

Решение

1 октября 2020 года Комитет указал правительству Швеции обеспечительные меры и попросил его «предпринимать необходимые меры для обеспечения личной неприкосновенности заявителей пока их жалоба находится на рассмотрении Комитета». По сути Комитет попросил правительство не передавать заявителей властям Беларуси.

У вас есть вопрос?

Профессиональная юридическая помощь в защите прав человека

Мы используем файлы cookie, чтобы иметь возможность предлагать Вам полезные функции и измерять производительность для улучшения качества обслуживания. Выбирая опцию "Принять все", Вы соглашаетесь с использованием всех файлов cookie.