A.J. and Others v. Switzerland

Communication № 1041/2020
Get advice
“Dublin” transfer to Poland has been suspended pending the Committee's decision on the complaint
flag Switzerland / flag Poland / flag Russia / Committee against Torture
Case type: "dublin"

The applicants in the case are father ("A.J.") and his three minor children. All of them are Russian nationals of Chechen origin. The case concerns the father’s deportation from Switzerland to Poland under the Dublin III Regulation.

Circumstances of the case

Initially A.J. and his wife applied for asylum in Poland. Their first child was born there. Shortly thereafter the family applied for asylum in Switzerland. Their two other children were born there.

After the Swiss authorities had refused to grant asylum to the family, A.J. returned to Chechnya alone. There he was detained and subjected to torture. Thereafter he left Russia for Poland, where he applied for asylum. After his ex-wife and children had obtained a residence permit in Switzerland, A.J. came to Switzerland and applied for asylum.

Due to the persecution sustained in Russia, A.J. has developed post-traumatic stress disorder and depressive disorder.

The Swiss authorities decided that under the EU “Dublin III” Regulation Poland is responsible for consideration of A.J.'s asylum application and ordered to deport him there. The Polish authorities have agreed to accept A.J.. Appeal against the decision at the national level has been unsuccessful. A.J. was detained and placed in a deportation prison.

Thereafter, the family turned to us.

Complaint to the Committee against Torture

In our complaint to the Committee we argued that A.J.’s deportation to Poland would violate Articles 3, 14, and 16 of the Convention against Torture. These articles would be violated because A.J., who suffers from serious mental disorders, would be deprived of communication with his children in a stable environment, which is critical to his recovery. We also argued that in Poland he would not have access to adequate medical care. Furthermore, a renewed separation from the father would traumatise the children, which would entail irreversible consequences for their mental health and overall development.

We also stated that in Poland A.J.’s application for asylum would not be considered fairly because the Polish authorities systematically discriminate against asylum seekers of Chechen origin.

Get advice

Decision

On 7 January 2020, the Committee indicated to the Government of Switzerland an interim measure requesting it not to deport A.J. to Poland pending examination of the complaint.

After the decision, A.J. was released from the deportation prison.

Do you have a question?

Specialised legal assistance in the protection of human rights

We use cookies to be able to offer you useful features and measure performance to improve the quality of the service. By choosing the "Accept All" option, you agree to the use of all cookies.

Privacy policy

А.Я. и другие против Швейцарии

Сообщение № 1041/2020
Получить консультацию
«Дублин» в Польшу остановлен на время рассмотрения жалобы Комитетом
flag Швейцария / flag Польша / flag Россия / Комитет против пыток
Тип дела: «дублин»

Заявители в деле – отец («А.Я.») и его 3 несовершеннолетних ребенка. Все они граждане России родом из Чечни. Дело касается депортации отца из Швейцарии в Польшу в соответствии с Регламентом «Дублин III».

Обстоятельства дела

Изначально А.Я. и его жена попросили убежище в Польше. Там у них родился ребенок. Спустя некоторое время семья попросила убежище в Швейцарии. Там у них родились еще двое детей.

После того, как швейцарские власти отказали семье в убежище, А.Я. один вернулся в Чечню. Там он подвергся пыткам. Затем он выехал в Польшу, где попросил убежище. После того, как его уже бывшая жена и дети получили разрешение на проживание в Швейцарии, А.Я. приехал в Швейцарию и попросил убежище.

Из-за преследований в России у А.Я. развилось посттравматическое стрессовое расстройство и депрессивное расстройство.

Швейцарские власти решили, что Польша должна рассматривать просьбу А.Я. об убежище согласно Регламенту ЕС «Дублин III», и постановили депортировать его туда. Власти Польши согласились принять А.Я.. Обжалование этого решения на национальном уровне не принесло результата. А.Я. был задержан и помещен в депортационную тюрьму.

После этого семья обратилась к нашим юристам.

Жалоба в Комитет против пыток

В жалобе в Комитет мы утверждали, что депортация А.Я. в Польшу будет нарушать статьи 3, 14, 16 Конвенции против пыток. Эти статьи были бы нарушены из-за того, что А.Я, который страдает от серьезных психических расстройств, будет лишен общения со своими детьми в стабильной обстановке, что критически важно для его выздоровления. Мы также указали, что в Польше ему будет недоступно адекватное лечение. Более того, новое разлучение с отцом нанесет детям травму, что будет иметь необратимые последствия для их психического здоровья и общего развития.

Мы также утверждали, что в Польше просьба А.Я. об убежище не будет справедливо рассмотрена из-за того, что польские власти систематически дискриминируют просителей убежища чеченского происхождения.

Получить консультацию

Решение

7 декабря 2020 года Комитет применил к заявителям обеспечительные меры и попросил власти Швейцарии не депортировать А.Я. в Польшу до того, как он рассмотрит жалобу.

После вынесения решения А.Я. был освобожден из депортационной тюрьмы.

У вас есть вопрос?

Профессиональная юридическая помощь в защите прав человека

Мы используем файлы cookie, чтобы иметь возможность предлагать Вам полезные функции и измерять производительность для улучшения качества обслуживания. Выбирая опцию "Принять все", Вы соглашаетесь с использованием всех файлов cookie.